What Do We Know About Jewish Pochep?

Pochep Coat of Arms

Pochep Coat of Arms

Pochep is currently in the Russian Federation, in the Bryansk oblast. Before World War I it was in the Mglin district of the Chernigov gubernia in the Russian Empire. Between the wars it was in the Oriol district of the Russian SSR.

In 1897 the Jewish population of Pochep was 3,172 out of a total of 9,714. In 1926 there were 3,616 Jews in the town, and by 1939 the Jewish population had dropped to 2,314.

The town was captured by the Germans on August 22, 1941, and hundreds of Jews were among the 2,200 murdered in the area. After the war a monument was erected over the mass grave. (from the Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust, edited by Shmuel Spector.)

This site is meant to be a collection of information about Pochep and surrounding communities from many sources. For more about historic and current Pochep, click here. To browse other websites with information about Pochep click here. For maps showing Pochep click here. If you have additional information about Jewish life in Pochep, please leave a comment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What Do We Know About Jewish Pochep?

  1. Asi Lurje says:

    My great grandfather Yehushua “Yevsei” Rabinovich was born in Pochep in 1875, he was a dayan at the rabbinical court of Pochep, and was also working as a forests dealer.
    His brother and sisters names were: Eliyahu “Ilya”, Sora and Mikhola Rabinovich.
    My great-grandparents Yehushua “Yevsei” and Hannah Rabinovich had eight children that were born in Pochep: David in 1902, My grandfather Leib in 1904, Matvei in 1906, Ida in 1907, Sofia in 1909, Yakov in 1910, Basya in 1913 and Rachel in 1915.
    If you can help me finding out for more info on my family… Please do so.
    Regards,
    Asi

    • Ron Elbakyan says:

      Yeheshua Yevsei Rabinovitch was my great great grandfather and his daughter Rachel Rabinovitch was my great grandmother. We happen to be third cousins, once removed.
      If you have any additional information please let me know

  2. Anita says:

    I was told that my grandfather, Benjamin Zifkin was born in Pochep and came to Canada at the beginning of the 1900’s. I grew up in Toronto and later made Alyiah to Israel in 1965 where I have been ever since. I married, had two children who have children of their own and are asking about their roots. Unfortunately, I don’t have very much information. It is a pity.
    I found your site very informative. Thank you!

  3. yossefmalkin says:

    My great grandmother was Enia Malkin née Agranoff – Diskin (1895-1941), born in Pochep.
    Her parents Yosef and Dania Agranoff had a hotel.
    One of her brothers was a cantor who lived abroad, on a visit to Pochep he got sick and died.
    Another brother was a communist and was shot during the purges of 1937.
    She might have had other siblings as well.
    I would really appreciate to discover more about this family.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

